Throwback Thursday: DIY Hawkeye Costume

20130502-182217.jpg

I painted a Hawkeye shirt for a friend’s son last Halloween. I spent many late nights trawling the Internet for photos of Jeremy Renner in costume. It was torture πŸ˜‰

I don’t have photos of the process because I kind of made it up as I went along. I tried to put as many design elements as I could, but alas, my pitiful painting skills can do no more.

I fashioned his armband out of black garter and made shin guards using black cardboard. We found a cheap bow and arrow set at a toy store and the husband painted them black.

My mother (who is quite the stage mother, despite her vehement denials) wanted me to include thigh straps because she saw a photo of Renner in costume. She even zoomed the photo on her iPad to prove it. I reminded her that my sewing skills are practically non-existent. She agreed to forgo the straps on the condition that her future grandchild (i.e. my future offspring) will get leg straps in his/her Hawkeye costume.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a photo of the little one decked out in his gear, but I did receive this beautifully illustrated letter after Halloween.

20130502-183351.jpg

Best thank you note ever!:)

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: DIY Hawkeye Costume

  1. If only we lived there, or you guys lived here! Hehehe. Tam has been wearing the same witch’s costume for two Halloweens in a row! I didn’t want to waste it – because it still fit her. This year she wants to be a “scary” Tinkerbell! How the H do I do that? =p

Leave a comment