Work hard and be kind

Work hard, be kind, and amazing things will happen.

I scribble notes in between classes to clear my mind and mentally prepare myself for the next class. I recently wrote down a quote by Conan O’Brien that was stuck in my head for weeks, thanks to a friend’s lovely prenup photo shoot. I tacked it on my bulletin board as a reminder. My 8 year-old student removed the note and placed it on the white board. When I asked her why, she replied:

“So that all the kids can see that if they work hard and be kind, amazing things will happen.”

I admit I am feeling burnt out after several years of teaching, and it is truly a blessing to be reminded of the reasons why I do this for a living.

Note: In his Tonight Show farewell speech, Conan O’Brien said, “But if you work really hard and you’re kind, amazing things will happen.” The above quote was taken from his commencement address at Dartmouth in 2011.

2 thoughts on “Work hard and be kind

  1. This is such a lovely quote. And one I need to be reminded of constantly as well, when it’s so easy to resent others who seem to do the exact opposite and yet speed through success.

Leave a comment